How Much Did Your Kid Cost?

I stumbled upon a great blog post that has gone viral on facebook by Dan Pearce called I’m Christian, as long as your not Gay, which I can’t say enough about but that isn’t the reason for this post. After reading that post and the follow up posts to it and wiping away my tears I noticed another post in the list above it titled: “How much did YOUR kid Cost?

Dan is father.  His son does not look like him.  Dan’s son was adopted.  Dan and his family as well as many other families who have adopted children of different races have been subjected to the ignorance of others over the years by what I hope is only curiosity and unthinking comments.  Dan writes about an incident that happened when he was out with his son,

“You see, today when I was at the store with Noah, somebody had the nerve to ask me, right in front of Noah, “how much did he cost?” And this was the second time somebody has asked that absolutely ridiculous and insensitive question to me; I know his mom has heard it too.”

I was heartbroken when I read this.  I hope that people will one day be educated about adoption and will  stop and think about the things they say BEFORE they say them.  Dan states,

“Don’t put your nose where it doesn’t belong. Respect my father-son relationship for what it is and don’t lessen it. Don’t talk about my son like he’s not even there or too little to understand.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Have you ever experienced something like this? How do you handle such ignorant questions when you are out?

Leave a Reply

